top of page

Roomba?! No... Rumba!

WELCOME BACK FRIENDS!

Just want to give a shoutout to my friends Austin and Justine for participating in all of my videos so far! I have enjoyed dancing with Justine and I'm sure Austin enjoys watching/filming us dance (even though it's not the best)!

I decided this week that I would try the Rumba Dance ... Not the Roomba as in vacuum ... But the Rum-ba! This one was more challenging for me as I had to remember to be in sync with Justine (Justine is a very good dancer, by the way). The foot work was the most challenging part about this whole dance, and I messed up a few times. You'll notice that in the demonstration video they added lots of hip movement, but I was more focused on the foot work than I was about adding the hips into it. Adding the hips into it would have confused me, especially when I am first learning. It is important to do it one step at a time! What helped me though was when they added commentary for every step ("quick quick slow, quick quick slow"). It helped me focus a little more, even though I still did the wrong foot work the odd time. It helped me keep in rhythm! Video below...

I think next week I am going to do a solo dance. I am not sure which dance, but something up-beat and hip-hop like! I have background in hip hop dancing, jazz dancing, and ballet (from when I was younger). I have always found dancing to be very easy to me and I have always been naturally good at it for some reason. I am not good at partner dancing though, which is why I am trying to get out of my comfort zone with these partner dances and try something new. Next week I am going to try a dance that I am more comfortable with and see how I do!

If you have any dances that you would like to see me try, please list them in the comments below! Thank-you for coming back to my blog. See you next week, friends!


Recent Posts
bottom of page