top of page

Teaching a Country Girl How to "Dance Country" ...

Here I am, teaching my best friend Justine who comes from a ranching/country background you could say, how to dance a country line dance. She took me to where she lives in small town Saskatchewan which is in the middle of nowhere, and I find that even though we all live in Saskatchewan, the people there are completely different than the people here in the Regina area. It was really neat to see!

You'll notice that in the video I have done this dance before in the one of my previous learning projects. I was most familiar with this dance and it was lots of fun to learn when I did it! I decided it would be best to teach her how to do this dance, since I figured she might be familiar with it as well. She mentioned that she had done this dance before but she did it differently than what was done today so she still learned something new! This dance was completely her style and I hope that when we go to Eldorodo's again we can do this dance together and I can, once again, pretend I am country, haha!

I definitely could have explained the steps better, but she is very receptive and a really quick learner so she was able to pick up what I was throwing down. I could have improved my directions of each step and focused on each section of movements/steps a little longer than I did since I went through the steps quite quickly. I realize that if I were to teach this to my students, which I hope to someday, that they would need clear and precise directions that are practiced several times!

Thanks again, Justine! You did great!


Recent Posts
bottom of page