top of page

Coding... FAIL

Hello again! So, I tried (and failed, miserably) coding. I tried getting onto Scratch and I also tried getting onto Code Academy. Neither program/website was supported on my piece of crap laptop. I bought this laptop for school to do basic things like write essays and send emails, but it doesn't have the ability to do other things, unfortunately. I have deleted everything that I possibly can on here and there's still not enough space to download chrome which I have now realized is my problem for not being able to access the coding programs. So, I worked with Code.org instead! I decided to do the Dance Party. It didn't go very well... as you can see in the video. I never got any further than step 2. I had a heck of a time figuring it out. I even went back to the video we did in class and it still wasn't working for me. I was stuck on the 4 measures part and I couldn't get out of it. I also was unable to get screencast on my laptop because it isn't supported with my browser, unfortunately. NO LUCK FOR MACKENZIE PART 2!!! BUTTTTT, instead.... I have been doing voiceovers on my phone when I create my videos in the iMovie app, which is basically the same thing as screencast, right?!?!?! I looked up some of the benefits to coding for students:

1. Learn computational skills 2. Coding is the new literacy 3. Learn problem solving skills 4. More career opportunities 5. Equips students with skills for the future 6. Facilitates and enhances creativity 7. Learn to avoid problems and learn perseverance

I am actually familiar with code.org and throughout Internship I had another teacher show it to me early on in the school year. During Tech time I would allow them once they were done their work to do code.org. A lot of them did the Dance Party one but most really enjoyed the Minecraft one. I had lots of students that played Minecraft at home and they were so excited to code it. I gave them instructions before hand and then in our next Tech class they could just get right to coding! Aside from my struggles with coding, I still had fun with it! I got a few laughs out of my cat and moose dabbing and doing the floss. 


Recent Posts
bottom of page