top of page

SuMaRrY oF mY lEaRnInG iN eDtC 300

Hello! Hola! Bonjour!

I have finally decided just to use my parents computer to do this blog post because I have just about had it with my phone app and my laptop - I have not had much luck this semester with my cell phone or my lap top.

ANYWAYS......

Below is a video of me summarizing what I did throughout my learning project...

This semester I decided to take up dancing. My original thought was that I was going to take up Ballroom Dancing. That plan lasted for about 2 learning sessions and then I switched it up. When I was looking around on the internet there were very limited ballroom dances that I could learn. To be quite honest, a lot of them were very similar to each other. I felt that if I kept going through with the ballroom dancing I wouldn't really be challenging myself, would I? After trying out a few ballroom dances I decided to switch it up. I had no intentions on learning how to do country line dances but I came across a couple on YouTube and decided to try one. I ended up doing around 4 or 5 country line dances after that for my learning process.

While in Punta Cana on vacation with my family, they did lots of salsa dancing poolside. They had lessons available at the beach but you had to pay to take the lessons and they were 3 hour lessons that were spread apart over 3 days. They offered a quick free lesson at 4:00 everyday, so I chose to participate in one! This salsa dance is definitely more my style and I loved learning how to do it!

While in Punta Cana I also danced with the kids on stage before one of the theater performances! I loved doing this. I was able to interact with the kids and teach them what I learned from the instructors!

A HUGE thanks to Justine (it is her birthday today btw), for helping me out throughout my learning project! She let me dance with her and she also let me teach her what I had learned.

For some of my YouTube uploads for my learning project I directly included the video I was learning from within my video. I thought that this was very useful for if anybody was interested in learning how to do the dance and was also interested in seeing my process of learning how to do it!

Some big take away's from my learning project...

  • I learned how to do the great vine. You'll notice that the great vine is a major dance move in most country line dances!

  • I need professional lessons when it comes to learning how to ballroom dance. I was not willing to pay for a lesson and I never had the time for a lesson. The lessons would have helped me get grounded on the basics for ballroom dancing and help me find a rhythm.

  • I enjoyed the salsa dancing!

  • I wanted to do more hip hop dancing but as I mentioned in previous blog posts, some of the dance moves were not appropriate.

  • I wish I would have chosen a learning project that could have left me with an "end product." I wish I would have chosen something more challenging! However, I did choose something I am passionate about and interested in!

Below is a video of a summary of some of my contributions to the course this semester...

In this course I had tweeted, shared, and commented on several tweets from other classmates as well as other sources that provided quality resources around education and technology within the classroom. I created polls and participated in polls, and I also participated in EdChats!

Slack - I found that most things that were shared in slack weren't things that I was able to answer. I had commented on a few basic questions that some of my classmates had and I also shared a helpful tool for individuals that have iPhone's (how to scan a document using the Notes app).

Blogging - I was very religious in getting my blog posts done at the beginning of the semester and then towards the last few weeks of the semester I started to slack a bit LOL! I feel that blogging is a very useful tool for individuals who are technology "oriented" (if that makes any sense?) Lots can be shared and documented while blogging. Personally, I do not follow blogs as a way to get insight on resources. I use paper/hard copy resources as well as teachers pay teachers! Whenever I found the time, I commented on other peoples' blogs as well as participate in the learning of others (Justine's learning project on hair styling). I commented on Erinn Flory's blog as well as Jayla's blog. I was very supportive of their learning projects and I was interested in seeing them progress and develop throughout the semester!

Twitter - Ugh, twitter. I got twitter when I was 12 and hadn't looked at it since! I was frustrated with twitter at first but once I began to follow resource pages and other classmates it actually became to be a very useful tool for me where I was able to share and seek insight on resources for the classroom (both technology related and not technology related). Overall, it was a beneficial experience!

Summary, Learning's & Big Takeaway's from EDTC 300...

  • INTERNET SAFETY - It is sooooo important that even though you may have a personal social media account that you still keep it professional. If you "choose" to keep it "unprofessional," make your accounts as private as they can be.

  • CODING - Good for networking and effective computer skills.

  • KAHOOT - Great for engaging in new topics in the classroom. Can be a great anonymous "voting" tool or checking for understanding.

  • GOOGLE CLASSROOM - Great for attendance!

  • VOICEOVER ON IMOVIE - Great for audio recording and reflecting on a video (I used iMovie lots and I used voiceover near the end of my blog posts).

  • TWITTER CHATS - Great for expanding your network and meeting other educators from around the world!

  • GOOGLE DOCS - Great for group projects (especially middle years and high school level).

  • HOW TO EMBED A LINK INTO A ONE WORD OR MULITPLE WORD TEXTS!

  • SLACK - Can be used for business purposes and sharing resources!

  • ZOOM - Great for online classes (like ours, hehe) and business meetings!

Overall, this course was super interesting and engaging to me! It was quite time consuming and I thought it would be a breeze, but I was able to learn a lot about technology that I never knew before! Thanks again, EDTC 300. Have a great summer!


Recent Posts
bottom of page